ecology+urbanism+culture

Welcome to the blog space of urban theorist, writer and ecological designer Jaqs (Jacqueline) Clarke. I completed my PhD in the School of Architecture and Planning at the University of Auckland in January 2013, and a post-doc residency at Laboratoire AMP in association with the Ecole Nationale Superieure d’Architecture Paris La Villette in Paris, France.

ecology + liquid urbanism + culture + biorhythmia + botany + aquatic space + vitality + resonance + flow dynamics… all these things interest me and inform my research, my teaching, my writing and more recently my design work…

Contact me at jaqs[dot]clarke06[at]gmail[dot]com

I started this blog site to record my teaching process at the School of Architecture and Planning at Auckland Uni. I have taught a paper there for the last three years called ecology + urbanism + culture. In 2013 I was based in the Laboratoire AMP in the Ecole nationale supérieure d’architecture de Paris la Villette on a post-doctoral research fellowship with AUSMIP.

Today’s architects work to understand and apply the dynamics of living systems thinking within contemporary design but also need to relate such design to social space and the integration of landscape. Informed by contemporary discourses such as transurbanism, landscape urbanism ecological urbanism and the title of my thesis liquid urbanism, my teaching approach explores complexity and dynamism in relation to urban vitality and resilience. I am currently writing a book and planning an exhibition.

One thought on “ecology+urbanism+culture

Leave a Reply

